About District


Guntur District was formed on the 1st October, 1904 with Head Quarters at Guntur after bifurcating Krishna and Nellore districts. Prior to 1859 there was ‘Guntur District’ with Head Quarters at Guntur but with a different jurisdiction. In 1859, the district was abolished and was divided up between Machilipatnam and Rajahmundry districts which were renamed as Krishna and Godavari. In 1904 Guntur district was constituted into a separate independent district with the areas of the Taluka of Tenali, Bapatla, Guntur, Sattenapalli, Narasaraopet, Vinukonda and Palnadu of old Krishna district and Ongole taluk from Nellore district.

Tenali taluk was split on 1-7-1909 into two taluks namely Tenali and Repalle. This district was formed in 1904 was retained intact till February, 1970.

In February 1970, while forming a new District with Ongole as its head quarters parts of Bapatla and Narasaraopet taluks and the whole of Ongole taluk were taken to Prakasam District leaving Guntur district with only eight taluks namely 1) Guntur 2) Sattenapalli 3) Tenali 4) Repalle 5) Bapatla 6) Narasaraopet 7) Vinukonda and 8) Palnadu.

With effect from 1st November 1977 again, these eight taluks were reorganised into eleven taluks by upgrading the sub-taluks of 1) Mangalagiri 2) Ponnuru 3) Macherla as taluks bifurcating the old taluks of Guntur, Bapatla and Palnadu respectively.

Later, 1980, Chilakaluripet taluk was formed as 12th taluk taking parts from Narasaraopet and Guntur Taluks.

During 1981-’82 Repalle taluk was sub divided into Pallapatla and Repalle, Tenali into Tenali and Emani, Guntur taluk into Guntur and Prathipadu, Sattenapalli taluk into Sattenapalli, Tyalluru and Rajupalem. Vinukonda Taluk into Vinukonda, Ipuru and Gurazala into Gurazala and Piduguralla thus bringing 19 taluks into existence by the end of 1981-82. Though it was contemplated in 1981-82 to constitute Amrathaluru and Tadikonda also as taluks to coincide with the 21 Panchayat Samithis yet they did not come into existence.

57 Mandals have come into existence with effect from 25-5-1985 in the place of erstwhile taluks and Firkhas. The main objective of the Government in Mandals is to take administration closer to the people.


As per Gazettee No. 939, Dated.26th January 2022 the Guntur District was divided into Three Districts i.e., Guntur (18 Mandals), Narasaraopet / Palnadu (28 Mandals) and Bapatla (25 Mandals). 12 Mandals from Tenali Division and 13 Mandals from Prakasam District merged into Bapatla District.


The District is bounded on the North by Krishna District, on the West by Palnadu District, on the South by Bapatla District, on the East by Krishna River. It is situated between 16O-17’-57.18” Northern Latitude and 80O-25’-55.06” of the Eastern Longitude.


The population of the district is 20,91,075 with a Density of 856 per Sq. Km. The Percentage of literary is 74.15 and the Percentage of Urban population to Total Population is 54.80.


The total Geographical area of the District is 2,44,700 Hectares covered by forest is 919 Hectares. The net area sown is 1,55,973 Hectares. The total cropped area in the District is 2,19,548 Hectares. The area sown more than once during the year is 63,575 Hectares.


Natural MineralSand reaches are available at Duggirala, Kollipara and Tadepalli Mandals. Gravel available in Medikonduru, Guntur, Kollipara, Tenali, Chebrolu and Prathipadu. Stone crushers are located at Medikonduru, Phirangipuram and Edlapadu Mandals.



ClimateThe Normal Rainfall of the District is 846.9 M.M. The climate is Generally warm in Summer.




RiversThe important Rivers and rivulets in the District are the Krishna. The River Krishna travel about 86 K.Ms through the District.






SoilsThe soils in general are very fertile and they are broadly classified as Black Cotton soil and Red loamy in the District. Black Cotton area is in 74% and Red Loamy in 26% of the area in the District.



CropsThe predominant crops grown in the District are Paddy, Jowar, Maize and Bajra among Cereals, Blackgram, Greengram, Bengalgram and Redgram among pulces, Cotton, Chillies, Turmeric and Tobacco among Non-food and commercial crops.




IrrigationThe two Major irrigation projects in the district are 1) Old Krishna Ayacut, now renamed at Prakasam Barrage and 2) Nagarjuna Sagar Project Both the projects are constructed on the river Krishna. A medium Irrigation channel by name Guntur Branch Canal (GBC) and the Minor Irrigation sources like Tanks, Filter points, Tube wells etc., are providing irrigation.



EducationAcharya Nagarjuna University is located in Pedakakani Mandal of Guntur District. In this District there are 3 Medical Colleges one in Govt. Sector and other two in private sector.




IndustriesThe District is famous for Cotton Zinning, Spinning mills and Nuzuveedu seeds limited (NSL Textiles) are situated in the District.




ChilliesGuntur’s Red Chilly is renowned globally and exported to Asia, Canada, and Europe. Guntur district is the main producer and exporter of most varieties of Chillies and chilli powder from India to countries like Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Middle East, South Korea, U.K. and USA & Latin America. It is Asia’s number 1 red chilli hub. Chilli contributes 72.44 percent to the horticulture, and hence is growth driver to the agriculture sector in the state. But in terms of processing, only primary processing to powder form takes place in the district. It has the potential to diversify to secondary processing of chilli to chilli flakes, sauce and pickle. Presently, other states procure chilli from Guntur, and process chilli to other consumable forms. Secondary production and value addition to the crops can take place in Guntur itself.



TurmericTurmeric processing cluster Duggirala (also an MSME cluster) comprises 26 micro firms. The principal products manufactured in the cluster are processed turmeric and turmeric powder. Turmeric is a major ingredient of Ayurvedic and herbal products. Thus, there is wider scope of expanding these industries which can make use of turmeric in the state.